NATIONWIDE SHIPPING AVAILABLE! WE WILL SHIP ORDERS WITHIN 1 BUSINESS DAY!
Use this page to order shmurah matzah meal. Each box of matzah meal contains one pound of ground machine matzah.
While the information below references Pesach, gluten-free shmurah matzah meal can be enjoyed year-round!
How do I get my matzah?
We offer nationwide shipping and take great care when we package your order. While we do our best to get your matzah to you as safely as possible, shipping is at your own risk.
We offer delivery services in the DC metro area.
You may also pick up your order at:
Baked by Yael in Washington, DC
One of 5 farmers' markets in Washington, DC, Alexandria, Virginia, and Bethesda, Maryland.
A customer's home in Baltimore, MD (address will be provided after you place your order)
When you check out, you will be prompted to select a pickup location, delivery, or shipping.
How is this matzah different than all other matzah?
Over 30 years ago, Rabbi Ephriam Kestenbaum developed matzah using a small patch of oats that were discovered to be completely free of gluten. Kestenbaum Gluten-Free Oat Matzah is now produced from oats grown in a dedicated field in Canada where no contact with other grains can occur. Using a special cleaning, grinding and milling process without steam, the natural bitterness of the oats is reduced. Part of the flour is shipped to Israel where machine matzah (uniform squares) is baked and matzah meal is ground, and the rest of the flour is shipped to Brooklyn where hand matzah (rustic rounds) are baked. The entire process, from the field to the oven to the box, is strictly supervised in accordance with Orthodox Jewish law.
It looks like there's gluten-free matzah on the Internet at much lower prices. Why should I buy Kestenbaum Gluten-Free Oat Matzah?
In recent years, many websites and stores have offered products that appear to be gluten-free matzah but are actually labelled "matzah-style crackers" or "matzah-style squares." In other words, they're not matzah. Matzah can only be made from flour and water under strict conditions, but the "crackers" and "squares" are made with tapioca starch, potato starch, oils, eggs, and/or honey. They're even marked "not for seder" or "not for sacramental purposes." You can snack on them during the week because none of their ingredients are prohibited on Passover, but you can't use them to say the blessings over matzah during seders or make motzi during the week.
Isn't spelt matzah less expensive?
Wheat and spelt both contain gluten. While some oats can also contain gluten, our oats are tested yearly and found to contain less than 5 parts per million of gluten using the best testing method available today. As a result, our oat matzah is nearly 100% gluten free but spelt matzah will always have gluten. Spelt may be suitable for people with an allergy or sensitivity to wheat, but not for those people with Celiac Disease or another allergy or sensitivity to gluten.
Who can use Kestenbaum Gluten-Free Oat Matzah?
Everyone! Of course, it's especially important for people who cannot tolerate gluten (such as those with Celiac Disease and other allergies and sensitivities) and want to fulfill the commandment of eating matzah on Passover. Many people who can tolerate gluten still find that gluten-free foods make them feel better.
What certifications does Kestenbaum Gluten-Free Oat Matzah have?
We offer machine matzah (uniform squares), matzah meal ground from machine matzah, and hand matzah (rustic rounds). All three types are shmurah (meaning "guarded"), which is a strict level of kosher supervision.
Baked by Yael is proud to help everyone celebrate Pesach. If you have any questions, please email email@example.com.